Home  / UK / Legal Register for Membership

Attorney General Appoints New Junior Treasury Counsel (Crime)

Attorney General announces 4 new lawyers who will prosecute some of the most serious criminal cases in the country

Published on 24 June 2014

Discover the World Of Judaica

by Attorney General's Office and The Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP


London, England

Old Bailey
Old Bailey

The Attorney General, Dominic Grieve QC MP, has appointed Jacob Hallam, Jocelyn Ledward and William Emlyn-Jones as Junior Treasury Counsel to the Crown at the Central Criminal Court from 1 July 2014.

Deanna Heer is appointed Junior Treasury Counsel from 1 July 2015.

Treasury Counsel prosecute some of the most serious criminal cases in the country.

Mr Richard Whittam QC is First Senior Treasury Counsel and heads the team of 10 Senior and 7 Junior Treasury Counsel.


  • The title “Treasury Counsel” derives from the days when all Crown counsel at the Central Criminal Court were instructed by the Treasury Solicitor. That procedure was changed in 1908, and since then the Director of Public Prosecutions has instructed the permanent counsel there.

  • Treasury Counsel are appointed by the Attorney General. They are divided into 2 groups: Senior Treasury Counsel and Junior Treasury Counsel. The First Senior Treasury Council is the head of the team and appointments are for 3 years.


Enter your email:
Enter Subject:
Enter your message:
Please enter this numbers in the fields:
  Click image to get a new code.
Enter code:

Posted 2014-06-24 09:53:00