Home  / UK / Government Register for Membership

New Members Of The Social Security Advisory Committee Announced

Minister for Welfare Reform, Lord Freud, has announced 6 appointments to the Social Security Advisory Committee (SSAC)

Published on 04 August 2014

Discover the World Of Judaica

by Department for Work and Pensions and Social Security Advisory Committee


London, England

Caxton House
Caxton House

The 6 appointments are:

  • Dr Gráinne McKeever
  • Dr Jim McCormick
  • Judith Paterson
  • Oluseyi Obakin
  • Rachael Badger

Existing member, Colin Godbold, has also been appointed for a second term for a further 3 years.

The appointments were made following open competition, and the new members will take up their posts at various points over the next 6 months.

Lord Freud said:

"I am delighted to welcome these new members to the Social Security Advisory Committee. They will bring a wealth of skills and experience to the committee at an important time of fundamental welfare reform."

Paul Gray, chairman of SSAC said:

"These appointments have been made at a particularly interesting time in terms of the welfare reform agenda, and the skills and experience that these members will bring to the committee ensure that we will continue to be able to provide authoritative and pertinent advice."

More Information

The Social Security Advisory Committee is an independent statutory body formed in 1980. It provides advice to the Secretary of State on proposals for the amendment of secondary legislation and on general social security matters as required.

The Commissioner for Public Appointments regulates all appointments made by the Secretary of State to SSAC. All such appointments are made in accordance with the Code of Practice published by the commissioner. The code is based on 3 core principles – merit, openness and fairness.

SSAC members receive a daily fee of £256.80, for a time commitment of at least 2 days a month. The appointments are for a period of 3 years.

The successful candidates will join the committee on the following dates.

  • Judith Paterson – 1 September 2014
  • Dr Jim McCormick – 1 November 2014
  • Oluseyi Obakin – 1 December 2014
  • Dr Gráinne McKeever – 1 December 2014
  • Rachael Badger – 1 February 2015

Colin Godbold’s contract will be extended for 3 years when his current term expires on 31 January 2015.

Information about each member will be published on the date that their term starts.


Enter your email:
Enter Subject:
Enter your message:
Please enter this numbers in the fields:
  Click image to get a new code.
Enter code:

Posted 2014-08-04 09:16:00