Home  / UK / Government Register for Membership

Introduction Of Same Sex Marriage At British Consulates Overseas

Same sex couples will now be able to marry at British Consulates in 23 countries

Published on 04 June 2014

Discover the World Of Judaica

by Foreign & Commonwealth Office


London, England

Foreign Office
Foreign Office

The ‘Consular Marriage and Marriages under Foreign Law Order 2014’ comes into force on 3 June and means that same sex marriages will be able to take place at British Consulates in the following countries: Australia, Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Mongolia, Montenegro, Nicaragua, Peru, Philippines, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, and Vietnam.

This list of countries is limited because British missions are only able to provide a same sex marriage service in countries where it is not possible for British nationals to have such a marriage under local law and where the local authorities have given permission for the missions to conduct consular marriages of same sex couples.


Enter your email:
Enter Subject:
Enter your message:
Please enter this numbers in the fields:
  Click image to get a new code.
Enter code:

Posted 2014-06-04 06:08:00